Aminul Islam Returns To Bangladesh From T20 World Cup Squad, Rubel Hossain To Continue As Lone Reserved Player

Aminul Islam Biplob

Bangladesh all-rounder Aminul Islam Biplob has returned to his country from the national team’s camp for the T20 World Cup in Oman, Bangladesh Cricket Board confirmed on Saturday.

Aminul, who made his debut for Bangladesh in 2019 against Zimbabwe, has played seven T20 Internationals for the national team and was named as one of the reserved players in the T20 World Cup squad.

Aminul Islam Biplob is returning: Bangladesh national selector

Bangladesh national selector Habibul Bashar confirmed Aminul’s return to Bangladesh and also mentioned that Khulna pacer Rubel Hossain will continue to remain the only reserved player in the team.

Aminul Islam Biplob
Aminul Islam Biplob celebrates with Mushfiqur Rahim. Credits: Bangladesh Cricket/Twitter

“Biplob (Aminul) is returning. We have kept Rubel as part of precaution as a couple of pace bowlers are carrying slight niggle,” Bashar told the reporters.

Rubel will be with us for the entire event: Rabeed Imam

Bangladesh have Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed and Shoriful Islam in their pace battery for the showpiece event. Rubel could be the likely replacement in case one of the pacers sustain any kind of injury.

Bangladesh senior manager for media and communications Rabeed Imam said Rubel will be with the squad throughout the T20 World Cup.

Rubel Hossain
Rubel Hossain. (Photo credit: RANDY BROOKS/AFP/Getty Images)

”Rubel will be with us for the entire event as Reserve Player. In case any player is ruled out, Rubel will join as player from the status of Reserve player and the rule is not new as this is in practice from 2017 Champions Trophy,” Imam told Cricbuzz. 

Bangladesh will be playing the ICC T20 World Cup Qualifiers and are placed in Group B alongside hosts Oman, Scotland and Papua New Guinea. The Mahumudullah led team will start its T20 World campaign on October 17 against Scotland at the Al Amerat Cricket Ground (Ministry Turf 1).

Bangladesh T20 World Cup squad: Mahmudullah Riyad (c), Mohammad Naim Sheikh, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shamim Hossain

Reserved players: Rubel Hossain

Also Read: Pakistan To Tour Bangladesh In November For Three T20Is And Two Tests

The post Aminul Islam Returns To Bangladesh From T20 World Cup Squad, Rubel Hossain To Continue As Lone Reserved Player appeared first on CricketAddictor.