CSK vs KKR: Match Preview – IPL 2021 Final

MS Dhoni and Eoin Morgan

CSK vs KKR: Match Preview – IPL 2021 Final. Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders will face off each other in the final of IPL 2021. The ultimate battle of IPL 2021 will take place on October 15 at Dubai International Cricket Stadium. CSK defeated DC in the Qualifier 1 game to reach the final. On the other hand, KKR defeated RCB in Eliminator and DC in Qualifier 2 to enter the final.

During the group stage, CSK and KKR squared off in two games, both of which were won by Chennai Super Kings. During the 1st CSK vs KKR encounter at Wankhede, CSK batted first and put up a mammoth total of 220-3. Opener Ruturaj Gaikwad slammed 64 runs while Faf du Plessis stormed unbeaten 95 runs. Moeen Ali also played a quick cameo of 25 runs.

Faf du Plessis, CSK, IPL 2021
Faf du Plessis. Image Credits: BCCI

Also Read: IPL 2021: I Am Grateful To The Management – Venkatesh Iyer After Winning Player Of The Match Award In Qualifier 2 Vs DC

Later, KKR lost the top 5 batsmen for single-digit scores. Later, Dinesh Karthik smacked 40, Andre Russell hit 54, and Pat Cummins slammed unbeaten 66 to take KKR to 202 all-out. KKR played beautifully but could not pull off a victory as CSK won by 18 runs.

The second CSK vs KKR encounter took place at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. Batting first, KKR posted 171-6 on the board. Rahul Tripathi scored 45 runs while Nitish Rana hit unbeaten 37. Dinesh Karthik also hit a quickfire 11-ball-26.

Rahul Tripathi
Rahul Tripathi (Image Credit: Twitter)

Also Read: IPL 2021: Would’ve Loved To Win Convincingly– Eoin Morgan After Winning Qualifier 2 Vs DC

For CSK, openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis hit 40 and 43 respectively. In the end, Ravindra Jadeja smacked 22 runs off just 9 balls to turn the game in CSK’s favour. CSK won the match on the final ball by just 2 wickets.

Ravindra Jadeja
Ravindra Jadeja vs KKR. (Photo: IPL)

Also Read: IPL 2021: Twitter Reacts As Kolkata Knight Riders Beat Delhi Capitals In A Last-Over Thriller And Book A Place In The Final

CSK vs KKR: Match Preview – IPL 2021 Final

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings
Chennai Super Kings (Image Credit: Twitter)

During CSK vs DC Qualifier 1 game, Delhi Capitals put up 172-5 on the scoreboard. Opener Prithvi Shaw scored fabulous 60 runs. Later, Rishabh Pant scored unbeaten 51 runs to take the team to a good total. Shimron Hetmyer also hit crucial 37 runs for the team.

For CSK, opener Ruturaj Gaikwad smacked 70 runs while no.3 batsman Robin Uthappa hit 63 runs. In the end, MS Dhoni hit 18 runs off just 6 balls to get the remaining runs for the team. CSK pulled off the victory in the final over by 4 wickets.

Ruturaj Gaikwad, IPL 2021
Ruturaj Gaikwad celebrates his maiden IPL hundred against Rajasthan Royals in IPL. Credits: IPL

Also Read: IPL 2021: Ruturaj Gaikwad Becomes Third CSK Batter To Score Over 600 Runs In One Season

For CSK, Ruturaj Gaikwad is the highest run-getter with 603 runs in 15 games. He has also smacked 1 century and 4 half-centuries. Gaikwad needs to score 24 more runs to get the orange cap. In bowling, Shardul Thakur has picked most 18 wickets for the team in 15 games.

CSK Squad: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (C), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood, Suresh Raina, Imran Tahir, Jason Behrendorff, Krishnappa Gowtham, Lungi Ngidi, Mitchell Santner, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Hari Nishanth, N Jagadeesan, KM Asif, Harishankar Reddy, Dominic Drakes, Bhagath Varma, Karn Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara.

Kolkata Knight Riders

Shakib Al Hasan, IPL 2021
Kolkata Knight Riders. Credits: IPL

Also Read: IPL 2021: Watch – MS Dhoni Tosses Autographed Ball To A Girl Shedding Tears Of Joy After CSK Defeated DC In Qualifier 1

Kolkata Knight Riders defeated RCB in the Eliminator match and then defeated Delhi Capitals in the Qualifier 1 game to make a way for IPL 2021 final. Talking about KKR vs DC Qualifier 2 encounter, KKR won the toss and opted to bowl first.

DC opener Shikhar Dhawan played a slow innings of 36 off 39 balls. DC’s run rate could not go high during the entire bating. Towards the end, Shreyas Iyer scored crucial 30 runs to take the total of 135-5. For KKR, opener Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer scored 46 and 55 respectively.

With their 96-run opening stand, KKR got a spectacular start. Towards the end, KKR lost some wickets quickly. On the final 2 balls, KKR needed 6 runs to win. Rahul Tripathi slammed a six off Ravichandran Ashwin’s ball to win the match for KKR by 3 wickets.

For KKR, Shubman Gill is the leading run-getter with 427 runs in 16 innings with 2 half-centuries. In bowling, Varun Chakravarthy has scalped most 18 wickets for the team in 16 games.

Varun Chakravarthy, KKR, IPL 2021
Varun Chakravarthy (Image: KKR)

Also Read: IPL 2021: Twitter Erupts As MS Dhoni’s Last-Over Heroics Take CSK Past DC And Into The Finals

KKR Squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik, Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy, Tim Southee, Harbhajan Singh, Andre Russell, Ben Cutting, Karun Nair, Pawan Negi, Kuldeep Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Sheldon Jackson, Sandeep Warrier, Tim Seifert, Prasidh Krishna, Rinku Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Vaibhav Arora. 

The post CSK vs KKR: Match Preview – IPL 2021 Final appeared first on CricketAddictor.