CSK vs PBKS: Match Preview – IPL 2021 Match 53


CSK vs PBKS: Match Preview – IPL 2021 Match 53. Chennai Super Kings and Punjab Kings will lock horns in their next encounter of IPL 2021. The CSK vs PBKS match will be the 53rd match of IPL 2021 and is scheduled to take place at Dubai International Cricket Stadium on October 7. In the previous encounter between both the teams in the 1st leg, Chennai Super Kings won by 6 wickets.

PBKS batted first in the match. With a destructive bowling attack by CSK, Punjab Kings suffered a big blow in batting. Deepak Chahar grabbed a 4-wicket haul to dismantle the opposition’s top and middle-order. In the end, Shahrukh Khan scored 47 runs which helped PBKS to put up 106-8 on the scoreboard.

Shahrukh Khan
Shahrukh Khan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Also Read: MS Dhoni Confirms He Will Not Retire At The End Of IPL 2021, To Play For CSK Next Year

The low target was a piece of cake for CSK and they did not make any mistake. Opener Faf du Plessis scored unbeaten 36 runs while one-down Moeen Ali also hit 46. In just 15.4 overs, CSK claimed victory by 6 wickets.

CSK vs PBKS: Match Preview – IPL 2021 Match 53

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings, CSK
Chennai Super Kings (Image Credit: Twitter)

Also Read: IPL 2021: Ambati Rayudu Has Been Player Of Franchise Since He Joined CSK, Asserts Gautam Gambhir

Chennai Super Kings currently take the 2nd spot in IPL 2021 points table. The team has already qualified for playoffs and was the first team to make an entry into the next round. CSK have played 13 matches so far in IPL 2021, winning 9 and losing 4.

In their previous game, CSK lost to Delhi Capitals by 3 wickets. Batting first, CSK’s top order could not score well. Later, Ambati Rayudu hit unbeaten 55 runs to reach 136-5 in 20 overs. DC bowlers kept a good economy rate while bowling and restricted CSK to a low total.

Later during the chase, Shikhar Dhawan hit 39 runs off 35 balls. DC got a good start but lost few crucial wickets in the middle-overs. In the end, Shimron Hetmyer scored unbeaten 28 runs off 18 balls. DC managed to pull off a victory in the final over with 3 wickets in hand.

Ruturaj Gaikwad
Ruturaj Gaikwad celebrates his maiden IPL hundred against Rajasthan Royals in IPL. Credits: IPL

Also Read: IPL 2021: Twitter Reacts As Delhi Capitals Take The Top Spot On Points Table With A Last-Over Win vs CSK

For CSK, Ruturaj Gaikwad is the top run-getter with 521 runs in 13 games at an average of 47.36. The right-handed batsman has also hit 3 half-centuries and 1 century. He is also the 2nd highest run-getter in IPL 2021. In bowling, Shardul Thakur is the leading wicket-taker for CSK. In 13 games, he has picked 15 wickets at an average of 28.33.

CSK Squad: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Robin Uthappa, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (c), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood, Imran Tahir, Cheteshwar Pujara, Karn Sharma, Jason Behrendorff, Krishnappa Gowtham, Lungi Ngidi, Mitchell Santner, R Sai Kishore, Hari Nishanth, N Jagadeesan, Harishankar Reddy, Bhagath Varma, Sam Curran, KM Asif, Suresh Raina.


Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings vs MI, IPL 2021
Image Source: Twitter

Also Read: IPL 2021: Watch – Virat Kohli Trolls PBKS After RCB’s Victory In Last Match

Punjab Kings currently take the 6th spot in the IPL 2021 points table. The KL Rahul-led side has played 13 games so far. They have won only 5 games and lost 8 and have 10 points. PBKS have a very little chance of entering the playoffs which looks almost uncertain.

In their previous game, PBKS lost to RCB by 6 runs. Batting first, RCB put up a total of 164-7. Openers Virat Kohli and Devdutt Padikkal hit 25 and 40 respectively. Later, Glenn Maxwell hit 57 runs for the team. For Punjab Kings, openers KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal hit 39 and 57. However, the next batsmen in line could not reach the target till the last ball.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul. (Photo: BCCI)

Also Read: IPL 2021: Twitter Goes Berserk After Third Umpire Makes A Blunder During RCB vs PBKS Game

Punjab Kings’ skipper KL Rahul is the highest run-getter in the tournament will 528 runs in 12 innings. He has also smacked 5 fifties. Mohammed Shami is the leading wicket-taker for the team with 18 wickets in 13 games.

PBKS Squad: KL Rahul (c), Mayank Agarwal, Nicholas Pooran, Mandeep Singh, Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Prabhsimran Singh, Mohammed Shami, Chris Jordan, Darshan Nalkande, Ravi Bishnoi, Murugan Ashwin, Arshdeep Singh, Harpreet Brar, Ishan Porel, Shahrukh Khan, Moises Henriques, Jalaj Saxena, Utkarsh Singh, Fabian Allen, Saurabh Kumar, Nathan Ellis, Adil Rashid.

The post CSK vs PBKS: Match Preview – IPL 2021 Match 53 appeared first on CricketAddictor.