DC vs KKR: Match Preview – IPL 2021 Qualifier 2

DC, KKR, Delhi Capitals, Kolkata Knight Riders

DC vs KKR: Match Preview – IPL 2021 Qualifier 2. Delhi Capitals and Kolkata Knight Riders will collide against each other in the Qualifier 2 match of IPL 2021. The encounter will take place on October 13 at Sharjah Cricket Stadium. The team that wins the match will get an entry to the final of IPL 2021 against Chennai Super Kings.

Delhi Capitals and Kolkata Knight Riders played 2 matches against each other during the group stage. The first encounter took place during the first leg. In the match, KKR batted first and put up 154-6 on the scoreboard. Opener Shubman Gill smacked 43 runs while Andre Russell hit unbeaten 45 runs.

Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw
Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw (Image Credit: Twitter)

Also Read: IPL 2021: Twitter Reacts As KKR Knock Out RCB And Proceed To Qualifier 2

During the chase, DC openers Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan smacked spectacular knocks. Shaw scored 82 runs while Dhawan smacked 46 runs along with a 132-run opening stand. DC managed a comfortable victory by chasing the target in just 16.3 overs and won the match by 7 wickets.

Rishabh Pant
Rishabh Pant. (Photo: IPL)

Also Read: IPL 2021: Brad Hogg Explains The Only Weakness In ‘Balanced’ Delhi Capitals Team

In the 2nd encounter between both teams in IPL 2021, KKR defeated DC by 3 wickets. Batting first, DC could manage just 127-9 on the scoreboard. DC opener Steve Smith hit 39 runs and skipper Rishabh Pant also smacked 39 runs. However, most of the batsmen lost wickets for single digits.

For KKR, opener Shubman Gill scored 30 runs. Later, Nitish Rana also hit unbeaten 36 runs while Sunil Narine scored 21 runs off 10 balls. DC’s Avesh Khan picked 3 wickets but DC could not defend their total. KKR eventually won the match by 3 wickets.

Nitish Rana
Nitish Rana (Image Credit: Twitter)

Also Read: IPL 2021: Brad Hogg Reckons The DC Camp Is Showing Signs Of Panic After Selecting 6 Frontline Bowlers

DC vs KKR: Match Preview – IPL 2021 Qualifier 2

Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals, IPL 2021, DC
Delhi Capitals (Image Credit: Twitter)

Delhi Capitals finished on the top spot in the points table with 20 points. Out of 14 games, they won 10 matches and lost only 4. In the Qualifier 1 game, DC lost to CSK by 4 wickets. Batting first, DC opener Prithvi Shaw scored 60 runs.

With Rishabh Pant’s unbeaten 51, DC reached 172-5 on the scoreboard. For CSK, opener Ruturaj Gaikwad hit 70 and no.3 Robin Uthappa smashed 63 runs. In the end, MS Dhoni slammed few boundaries to win the match for the CSK in the final over.

Shikhar Dhawan. Photo-IPL
Shikhar Dhawan. Photo-IPL

Also Read: IPL 2021: Ricky Pointing Told Me I Am One Of The Main Players In Delhi Capitals – Axar Patel

For DC, Shikhar Dhawan is the highest run-getter with 551 runs in 15 innings at an average of 39.35. He is the 3rd leading run-scorer in IPL 2021 and hit 3 fifties so far. In bowling, Avesh Khan is DC’s top wicket-taker with 23 wickets in 14 games at an average of 18.60.

DC Squad: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (C), Ripal Patel, Shimron Hetmyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Avesh Khan, Anrich Nortje, Ishant Sharma, Steven Smith, Umesh Yadav, Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Mishra, Sam Billings, Marcus Stoinis, Tom Curran, Ben Dwarshuis, Lalit Yadav, Kulwant Khejroliya, Vishnu Vinod, Praveen Dubey, Lukman Meriwala.

Kolkata Knight Riders

Shakib Al Hasan
Kolkata Knight Riders. Credits: IPL

Kolkata Knight Riders finished on the 4th spot in IPL 2021 points table after the group stage with 14 points and a far better net run rate than Mumbai Indians. During the Eliminator game, KKR defeated RCB by 4 wickets.

Batting first in the match, RCB piled up 138-7 on the scoreboard. Opener Virat Kohli hit 39 runs while the rest players did not manage to score big knocks. Sunil Narine, who picked 4 wickets, also scored crucial 26 runs for the team while chasing. KKR won the match in the final over by 4 wickets.

Varun Chakravarthy, KKR
Varun Chakravarthy (Image: KKR)

Also Read: IPL 2021: Daniel Christian’s Wife Abused On Instagram After RCB’s Loss To KKR In The Eliminator

For KKR, Rahul Tripathi is the highest run-scorer with 383 runs in 14 innings with 2 fifties. In bowling, Varun Chakravarthy is the leading wicket-taker for the team with 16 wickets in 15 games.

KKR Squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy, Tim Southee, Harbhajan Singh, Andre Russell, Ben Cutting, Karun Nair, Pawan Negi, Kuldeep Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Sheldon Jackson, Sandeep Warrier, Tim Seifert, Prasidh Krishna, Rinku Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Vaibhav Arora. 

The post DC vs KKR: Match Preview – IPL 2021 Qualifier 2 appeared first on CricketAddictor.