MS Dhoni Becomes First Player To Captain 300 T20 Matches

MS Dhoni, CSK, IPL

Former Indian and current Chennai Super Kings (CSK) captain MS Dhoni became the first player in the history of T20 cricket to captain a team in 300 matches. He breached the milestone when he walked out to the toss in the IPL 2021 final between CSK and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

Dhoni has captained three sides in his T20 career – CSK, the Indian team, and the now-defunct Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS). He has 176 wins and 118 losses with a win percentage of 59.79, along with two tied matches and three no-results.

MS Dhoni, IPL 2022, Chennai Super Kings
MS Dhoni (Image Credit: Twitter)

After Dhoni, the next highest on the list is former West Indian player, Darren Sammy with 208 matches as captain. Virat Kohli, Gautam Gambhir, and Rohit Sharma are the remaining three captains in the top-5 list of highest matches as a captain.

KKR opt to field first in IPL final against MS Dhoni-led CSK

Eoin Morgan continued his trend of wanting to chase in the latter half of the IPL 2021 as he opted to field first against CSK. KKR has won all the six games it has chased in the second leg of the IPL.

Both the teams opted to stick with the same winning team heading into the final. Despite having Andre Russell fit for the final, KKR opted to stick with Shakib Al Hasan who has done well in the playoff stage for Kolkata.

MS Dhoni and Eoin Morgan
MS Dhoni and Eoin Morgan (Credits: Twitter)

As for Chennai, they will be dependent on their in-form openers, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis to provide a good start. This is CSK’s ninth IPL final, of which they have won three so far. On the other hand, KKR has a 100% win rate in the IPL finals, having secured the trophy in 2012 and 2014.

Also Read – I Think Rishabh Pant Will Carry On As Delhi Capitals Captain, Opines Michael Vaughan

The post MS Dhoni Becomes First Player To Captain 300 T20 Matches appeared first on CricketAddictor.