T20 World Cup Sri Lanka Squad, Schedule, Date, Time, And Venue

Sri Lanka

The marquee T20 World Cup 2021 tournament is all set to commence on October 17, and the final of the event will take place on November 14.

Meanwhile, The qualifier round of T20 World Cup 2021 will begin on October 17 and will end on October 22 and one time T20 WC champions Sri Lanka will be participating in the qualifier round.

Shikhar Dhawan, Sri Lanka, India
Shikhar Dhawan talks with Sri Lankan players.. Photo by ISHARA S. KODIKARA/AFP via Getty Images

The 2014 T20 World Cup winners Sri Lanka National Cricket Team have failed to make it into the Super 12s through direct qualifications and they will have to go through a qualifier round. Sri Lanka is placed in Group A of Round 1 of T20 World Cup 2021 alongside Ireland National Cricket Team, The Netherlands National Cricket Team, Nambia National Cricket Team. Sri Lanka remains the strongest team in the group and is expected to easily qualify for the Super 12s which will begin from 23 October.

Sri Lanka Team, Sri Lanka vs India
Sri Lanka Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka doesn’t have many positives heading into the tournament. Also, they don’t have experienced campaigners in the team which is a big concern.

In the last 10 T20 International series team Sri Lanka has played they have won only twice. In the recent series, they won against India’s B team at home other than that Sri Lanka has got thrashed by South Africa and England by 3-0.

However, the young Sri Lankan team will be looking forward to changing things up in the T20 World Cup 2021. Under the leadership of Dasun Shanaka and in the presence of some brilliantly talented cricketers Sri Lanka will be looking forward to getting back to winning ways.

Sri Lanka’s Squad For The Upcoming T20 World Cup 2021

T20 World Cup 2021: Sri Lanka Confirm Their Final 15-Men Squad
T20 World Cup 2021: Sri Lanka Confirm Their Final 15-Men Squad

Dasun Shanaka (captain), Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya De Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando.

Complete Schedule Of Sri Lanka For The T20 World Cup 2021

18 October, Monday Sri Lanka vs Namibia 7:30 PM, Abu Dhabi

20 October, Wednesday Sri Lanka vs Irelands 7:30 PM, Abu Dhabi

22 October, Friday Sri Lanka vs Netherlands 7:30 PM, Sharjah

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2021: This Is Probably One Of The Best Squads That We’ve Had – Former Australian Pacer Brett Lee

The post T20 World Cup Sri Lanka Squad, Schedule, Date, Time, And Venue appeared first on CricketAddictor.