Year Wise Player Of The Match In IPL Final History

Faf du Plessis Bleeding Knee

Chennai Super Kings registered a comprehensive 27-run win over Kolkata Knight Riders in the final of IPL 2021 on Friday to lift their fourth IPL title. CSK made an early exit last year and came back strongly to finish second at the end of the league stage.

They beat Delhi Capitals in Qualifier 1 to book their place in the finals. After being asked to bat first, Chennai Super Kings posted a mammoth 192-run total, thanks to significant contributions from all the batsmen in top-four.

Faf du Plessis
Image Source: Twitter

Kolkata Knight Riders openers gave them a great start and were very much in the game till the first half of the innings. However, Shardul Thakur’s arrival in the 11th overturned the game on its head. Thakur sent both Venkatesh Iyer and Nitish Rana in a single over and wickets kept falling at regular intervals after that. KKR, in the end, fell 27 runs short of the target.

Faf du Plessis earned the Player of the Match award for his stellar knock of 86 runs off 59 balls, including 7 fours and 3 sixes. Playing a match-winning knock under pressure in a big final is never an easy task. A lot of players succumb to the pressure of big games.

But some excel in pressure situations and help their team win matches. Over the years, we have seen some top knocks in big games such as an IPL final and they get rewarded with the Player of the Match award. Here’s a look at who all got the Player of the Match award across 14 editions of the tournament.

Year Wise Player Of The Match In IPL Final History

  1. 2008 IPL Final- Yusuf Pathan

Yusuf Pathan
Image Source: Twitter

Led by Shane Warne, Rajasthan Royals took everyone by surprise after winning the inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League in 2008. Rajasthan Royals met Chennai Super Kings in the final. A collective batting effort helped CSK post a 163-run total in the first innings.

Contrary to everyone’s expectations, Rajasthan Royals chased it down and thereby won the first edition of IPL. Yusuf Pathan played a scintillating knock of 56 runs off 39 balls in the second innings and kept the hopes alive for RR. Shane Warne, in the end, hit the winning runs on the final ball to script history for RR. Yusuf Pathan earned the Player of the Match award for his match-winning knock.

The post Year Wise Player Of The Match In IPL Final History appeared first on CricketAddictor.